20091117 K.Will, back with ‘K.Will-ish’ album soaring as a representative ballad singer.   5 comments

Here came the season when fierce wind passes by. There’s nothing better than a ‘deep’ ballad song that will comfort our lonely hearts in this cold winter. That’s why I think of him a lot in this season, K.Will.

He’s the kind of man who goes well with this season, singing ‘deep’ ballad with his deep voice. K.Will is back with his official second album, ‘Miss, Miss and Miss’. Tears are going to pour only by reciting the title.

When I listen to ‘Miss, Miss and Miss’, I’m surprised at the sorrow and when I look at the album I’m amazed once more at his sincerity. He released an album packed with as many as 18 tracks, which isn’t too common in this day and age. There’s not one song which is less important to him.

# Lucky to come across such a song

When I was to meet him, the first thing that I was worried about was his health. He has suffered from H1N1 influenza, which made me wonder about his condition. He has had high fever as if he had been through a heartbreak.

K.Will said, “I’m really fine now. I can’t even count how many times I’ve said that. When I caught the flu, I couldn’t even open my eyes due to the fever that was as high as 40 degrees Celsius. I was most concerned about my voice. I had too severe a fever that I even worried my voice would change,” he smiled.

Despite all the worries, his voice was fine, no, it was even deeper.

K.Will introduced ‘Miss, miss and miss’ as a song that impressed him so much that the moment he listened to it for the first time, he wanted it so bad. “Great songs make me wonder if the lyrics or the melody was written first, and this song certainly did. Some even said that as a singer it is a very lucky thing to come across such a song.”

K.Will said, “Nowadays, there are so many songs which only care about public popularity. But as a vocalist, all I ever want to do is sing and not care about all those formulas for success. That’s why I put emphasis on authenticity of the album. In a nutshell, this album is like Korean food, in that the more times you experience it, the better it feels.”

#Pressure

From ‘Love119’ to ‘Dropping the tears’, every song he released was responded with much enthusiasm from the public. That might made him feel more burdened. In this situation where people were expecting the song K.Will’s going to bring, what he chose was the regular tactics for the attack.

K.Will explained, “Thinking that now is the most important moment, I wanted to show who I was and that I’m still in a stage of developing.”

It looked like he had a special affection for the song ‘Love119’, which made today’s K.Will. I wondered what kinds of thoughts he had in mind when he was gaining great popularity.

K.Will reminisced, “I thought, ‘No one’s supposed to really die out’. I once saw Han bi-ya say on TV ‘The moment you fall off a cliff, you’ll realize that you have a wing’, and that’s exactly what I felt. I doubted a little when I saw that I had a wing. Part of it was because I haven’t accepted anything so easily before. That much I was stunned, happy, and on the other hand I felt pressure.”

#Adventurer K.Will

K.Will says he doesn’t like a game in the bag. He likes the one in which he has no idea if he will win or lose, so that he has to throw himself into it. It’s the same this time. Man outstanding singers are active lately, but that only makes him more willing to sing earnestly.

K.Will said, “Singing industry thesedays is just like the chaos in the ancient Chinese history. There are so many songs, and the music charts flip and turn every day. It is also very energetic now that many solo singers have made their comeback stages. This situation keeps urging me.

What does K.Will feel like when he sees the idol groups? He confessed, “I envy them in that they can sing at an early age. Plus, when I made my debut, all I had was my song. But those kids, they not only sing well, but also dance very well, not to mention their good-looking appearances. They seem ‘just perfect’. Especially when the group SHINEE sang ‘You’re so beautiful(Replay)’, I loved the song, but I had somewhat of a stereotype that songs that sound too much like western pop music are difficult to gain popularity. But when I watched them as they were becoming more and more popular, I was a bit envious.”

#Man’s age Thirty

K.Will turns 30 next year(2010). Thirty, it’s another point to start over.

K.Will confessed, “As people age, it’s natural to have a change in their thoughts. I have thought that there has to be a special occasion for a person to change, but as I get older I’m gradually changing. Looking back, I realize that I’ve changed a lot. When I saw babies before, I just thought they were cute. But now, I could almost cry at how beautiful my friends’ babies are. Sensibilities change as well. It also feels natural.”

K.Will is having his first solo concert on December 25th at Yeonsei Univ. “I’ve never imagined I could wrap up 2009 with my very concert. I am in the seventh heaven. I guess I can expect a heart-throbbing year. Recently, as I’m trying my best to make this concert the best one, I’m quite nervous. I cried at my debut stage and my first showcase. Probably I will do so after this concert,” he smiled.

To a question if K.Will cry when he gets the first place in a music program, he responded with a smile. “Well, I don’t really know until it happens to me.” It feels like he’s going to soar as a representative ballad singer with his new album.

Translated by Kelly Han

Source: http://news.nate.com/view/20091117n04819

Posted February 6, 2010 by Ann in News & Interviews

Tagged with

5 responses to “20091117 K.Will, back with ‘K.Will-ish’ album soaring as a representative ballad singer.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thnx for the translation. ^^

  2. I’m glad that there’s actually some people who get help from my translation^^

  3. All k.will’s song are good and he sings his songs beautifully. I’m wondering why he never gets the first place in the music bank.
    If i’m a korean n live in s.korea, i’ll vote for him to death.

  4. One more thing, i really don’t understand, why other people always the main character in his mv. Thats not fair for him.His songs dan his mv, he suppose the main actor.

    • Read about “Making all of Music – K.Will – Present (MV)” you might know about this. And watch Making Love 119 from main channel you would notice how much they cut it off.

      And

      Welcome to magic of K.Will. ^-^

Leave a Reply

